ABOUT


The newly founded FRÉDÉRIQUE HUTTER ART CONCEPT represents a natural transition for the art expert Frédérique Hutter. On one hand, the new concept envisions the continuity of landmark exhibitions, select brokerage and sales activities in the primary and secondary markets, albeit one without the explicit need for formal and permanent exhibition spaces. On the other, the concept further includes art advice in and around collecting of established and upcoming artists, the development of private collections, as well as the execution of various art projects both in Switzerland and abroad.

Frédérique Hutter’s noteworthy career in the art world spans over 25 years. In 1995 she completed an internship at Christie’s in Geneva, where she first gained invaluable experience within the inner workings of the international art-auctioning scene. This was followed by notable stops at leading galleries such as Kunstsalon Wolfsberg – a traditional art gallery specializing in modern Swiss art – and several years at the renowned and internationally acclaimed Galerie Bruno Bischofberger, with a focus on Modern-, American Pop- and Conceptual Art, where she oversaw the ideation, organization and execution of significant art shows in internationally acclaimed museums and for the gallery’s own Bruno Bischofberger Collection. In 2000, teaming up with gallerist Nicola von Senger, she took over the management of arsFutura, a gallery widely recognized for the discovery, introduction and exhibition of works by cutting-edge contemporary artists, followed by terse terms at esteemed venues such as Gallery Eva Presenhuber (then Hauser & Wirth II), Elisabeth Kaufmann, Gmurzynska and Haunch of Venison.

In 2008 Frédérique Hutter founded KATZ CONTEMPORARY, a Zurich-based gallery she successfully led as director for a decade. During this time, she curated and devised more than 50 exhibitions, building up the careers of young artists while also offering internationally established players of the art scene a much-respected exhibition platform in Switzerland. In her gallery space, she also organized numerous independent art projects and art-related events, which awarded the venue its status as one of Zurich’s leading cultural spaces.

In addition to her professional endeavours, Frédérique Hutter has been an active ambassador for the SANNI Foundationsince 2017, an organization dedicated to educating and fostering the talent of children and adolescents, tackling extreme poverty, promoting health and empowering women in India.

PRESS

PORTRÄT


Frédérique Hutter schlägt mit ihrem neu gegründetem Unternehmen FRÉDÉRIQUE HUTTER  ART CONCEPT ein neues Kapitel auf. Aufbauend auf die letzten zehn Jahre KATZ CONTEMPORARY Galerietätigkeit, fokussiert das neue Konzept auf ein erweitertes Angebot an Dienstleistungen. Nebst der Weiterführung der Galerietätigkeit im Rahmen von temporären Ausstellungsprojekten ohne fixe Ausstellungsräume, werden Kunstberatung und Kunstvermittlungen, Verkaufstätigkeiten im primary und secondary Market, den Aufbau von Sammlungen, sowie die Umsetzung von erweiterten Projekten im In- und Ausland im Mittelpunkt stehen. Ausserdem wird Sie sich eingehend der Betreuung und Förderung von auserwählten jungen Künstlern widmen.

Frédérique Hutter bewegt sich seit über 25 Jahren aktiv in der Kunstwelt. 1995 absolvierte sie ein Praktikum bei Christie’s Geneva, wo sie erste Erfahrungen im Auktionswesen sammeln konnte. Es folgten Galeriestationen im Kunstsalon Wolfsberg, einer traditionellen, auf moderne Schweizer Kunst spezialisierten  Kunstgalerie, mehrere Jahre in der renommierten, international tätigen Galerie Bruno Bischofberger mit Schwerpunkt Modern Art, American Pop Art und Conceptual Art, wo sie u.a. an der Organisation und Durchführung von Ausstellungen in renommierten internationalen Museen und für die Sammlung Bruno Bischofberger tätig war. Im Jahr 2000 übernahm sie zusammen mit dem Galeristen Nicola von Senger die Geschäftsleitung der Galerie arsFutura, einer  für zeitgenössische Gegenwartskunst bekannten Galerie. Bis zur Eröffnung ihres eigenen Galerieprojektes folgten weitere kurze Zwischenstationen in namhaften Galerien, wie u.a. der Galerie Eva Presenhuber (damals Hauser & Wirth II), Galerie Elisabeth Kaufmann, Galerie Gmurzynska und Haunch of Venison.

Im 2008 gründete sie die Galerie KATZ CONTEMPORARY, die sie zehn Jahre lang als Direktorin erfolgreich führte. Während dieser Zeit hat sie über 50 Ausstellungen kuratiert und konzipiert. Sie baute junge Künstler auf und bot auch internationalen, bereits etablierten Künstlern eine viel beachtete Ausstellungsplattform. In ihren Galerieräumen organisierte sie des Weiteren zahlreiche Kunstprojekte und Events, welche die Galerie zu einer wichtigen Adresse in der Zürcher Galerie- und Kulturszene machte.

Seit 2017 ist Frédérique Hutter aktive Botschafterin der SANNI Foundation, einer Organisation, die sich für die Erziehung und  Bildung von Kindern und Jugendlichen, die Bekämpfung extremer Armut, die Gesundheitsförderung sowie Förderung von Frauen in Indien einsetzt.

PRESS